Saturday, 25 August 2012

Andrew Weatherall
Back To Basics Promo Mix, 1995 [From Tape]

Back in 1995, I was studying Graphic Design at Falmouth College Of Art, Cornwall. However, a group of us used to take the long trip up to London every month to attend Andrew Weatherall's Blood Sugar night at the Blue Note in Hoxton Square.

Travelling early in the morning so we could arrive in the big smoke at a reasonable time for some record shopping and general mischief, it was on our second excursion that it occured to me that Mr. Weatherall's Sabres Of Paradise / Emissions office was on Dean Street above a strip joint.

Having always been a bit of a blagger, I thought I'd give the door a knock to see if they'd let me come and buy some vinyl at a cheaper price than my local record emporium (knowing I was gonna spunk all my other dough at Blood Sugar later on).

Greeted by the larger than life Curly who ran the office for Mr. Weatherall, I couldn't believe it when he responded with a polite yes.

After buying some bits and pieces over our next few visits and bumping into Curly and Co at Blood Sugar, we became regulars at the office on the first Friday of every month in the hope we'd get some white labels or something special.

A couple of visits down the line, we got it in the form of Mr Weatherall popping out from the sliding doors that seperated the office from whatever it was going on behind them, and saying 'Alright fellas? Curly - can we give these away?'

In his hands where two cassette tapes. One was an advanced copy of Blue's excellent Mexican Church album (which I later realised had completely different tracks on to the release), the other was a just-finished mix which I believe was to promote Mr. Weatherall's Cut The Crap mix which was forthcoming on Back To Basics.

Suffice to say - I almost burst when Curly responded with a 'Yeah, sure we can,' and offered them to us.

In years of collecting and hunting down Andrew Weatherall mixes, I've never come across this mix anywhere and I'm not really sure how many people got hold of it. All I know is that it's a gorgeous excursion into ambient, dub, hip-hop and electronica as only Mr. Weatherall know's how.

I hope you enjoy this mix as much as I have for the past 17 years and apologies for any loss of quality, but this has been hammered over the course of those years.

Wednesday, 27 May 2009

Mixes added

Dubhousedisco Vol.1
01. Martin Solveig - Destiny (2002 Version) - Mixture Stereophonic
02. The Parallax Corporation - Anti Social Tendencies - Viewlexx
03. Metro Area - The Art Of Hot - Environ
04. Tiga - Burning Down (TGV Dub) - Turbo
05. Unknown - Unknown - White Label
06. Russ Gabriel - Photos And Memories - Soul On Wax
07. The Nimbus Quartet - Hep Cat Speaketh - Sounds
08. Octave One - And All That Remains - 430 West
09. Soul Mekanik Invents - If U Nu (Chicken Lips Dub) - RIP Records
10. LCD Soundsystem - Beat Connection (Extended Disco Dub) - DFA

Dubhousedisco Vol.2
tracklist coming soon.......

Mahogani Disco Mix
01. Moodymann - On The Run - Peacefrog
02. Pockets -
Come Go With Me - Columbia
03. Freddie James -
Get Up And Boogie - Warner Brothers
04. FLB -
Boogie Town - Fantasy
05. Gene Chandler - Number 1 - Chi-Town Recordings
06. WAR -
The World Is A Ghetto - United Artists Records
07. Michael Henderson - Wide Receiver - Buddah
08. Geraldine Hunt -
Can’t Fake The Feeling - Prism Records
09. Deodato - Night Cruiser - Warner Brothers
10. L.A.X. - All My Love - Prelude
11. Benelux and Nancy Dee
- Switch - Scope
12. Prince & 94 East -
One Man Jam - Castle Classics
13. Chas Jankel - Ai No Corrida - A&M Records
Giorgio Moroder - Chase - Casablanca Records